Skilled Help For Impaired Driving Charges
When you are arrested for driving under the influence (DUI), you may not be sure what to do next. Too often, people think they have no defense available, especially if their breath test shows they were driving over the legal limit. You may have more defense options than you think, however.
I am Marcos Beaton Jr., founder of Beaton Law Firm, and I have been fighting for the legal rights of defendants in South Florida for decades. I will stand by you throughout your case, providing the guidance you need to make important decisions about your case. I will also advocate for you in an attempt to either dismiss or reduce the charges against you.
Florida Penalties For DUI
Florida law prohibits driving or operating any motor vehicle, including boats, with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08% or more. It also prohibits driving under the influence of drugs. Your penalties will often depend on how many previous DUI convictions you have had within five years for your second offense and within 10 years after that. Penalties can include:
- Loss of your driver’s license – Your license will likely be revoked for a minimum of 180 days with a first offense, up to a permanent revocation after a fourth conviction.
- Jail time – You will not often face jail time with a first offense, but additional convictions could result in anywhere from 10 days up to five years.
- Fines – Fines can range from $500 to $1,000 with a first offense up to a $2,000 minimum.
- Community service – You may have to perform community service after your first conviction.
- DUI school – First time offenders may have to attend these classes in order to have their license returned.
- Vehicle immobilization – Your vehicle could be immobilized anywhere from 10 to 90 days, unless you can show that other members of your household have no other form of transportation.
Other factors that can increase your penalties include:
- Having a BAC of .15% or more
- Having a minor in the car
- Causing an accident
In addition, if you hold a commercial driver’s license (CDL), your BAC threshold for a DUI is .04%. You could lose your license and your livelihood. Some professionals can also lose their professional license after a DUI. Do not take chances with your future. Contact me right away to start building your defense.
If Your Car Accident Ends In A Fatality
Unfortunately, some auto accidents do result in a fatality. If you are involved in a fatal accident, law enforcement may attempt to find you criminally liable by charging you with vehicular manslaughter in addition to your DUI charges. These charges immediately increase the severity of your charges and the penalties you face. I understand how this system works and how to vigorously defend you against these additional charges.