The state of Florida charges drivers with Driving Under the Influence (DUI) if they operate a vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration of.08 percent or higher. You can also face DUI charges if you have illegal amounts of chemical or controlled substances in your blood. A variety of factors influence what type of penalties you will face if convicted of a DUI.
You refused to be tested for a DUI
All states in the U.S. follow the “implied consent” law. Under this law, drivers give their consent to be tested for alcohol and drugs any time that police lawful make a lawful DUI arrest. In the state of Florida, the implied consent law applies to breathalyzers at the police station, as well as blood and urine tests.
If you refuse to agree to be tested, you face the following penalties:
- Your license can be revoked for up to 18 months.
- Your refusal may be used against you in your DUI trial.
- The refusal counts as a separate misdemeanor charge.
- You can go to jail for up to one year.
- You can be forced to pay up to $1,000 in fines.
Your face prison or jail time depending on your past offenses
Your first and second DUI may only result in a brief jail sentence. These DUI convictions count as misdemeanors and result in jail sentences of up to nine months in jail.
If you receive a third DUI within ten years of your second one, you will be charged with a felony. This can result in the following penalties:
- Five-year prison term
- 90-day loss of vehicle
- 10-year loss of driver’s license
- Fine of at least $4,000
DUI laws can be confusing
The state of Florida does not treat every single DUI case the same. This benefits the person charged with the DUI, but it can make the system tough to navigate without adequate and experienced legal help.